Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 5, 2016 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

Paul Davenport called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m. and the April minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

•

Report Paul Davenport, Faculty Senate Chair Chair Davenport presented Dr. David Kratzer with a Proclamation from the Faculty Senate.

WHEREAS, Vice President of Student Affairs Major General David Kratzer has served the students of the University of Florida with great care, compassion, and excellence since 1986; and

WHEREAS, Vice President Kratzer has provided guidance and insight into student affairs with his service as Director of the Reitz Union; Associate Vice President, Interim Vice President, and Vice President of Student Affairs; and his tenure has been through many challenges and he provided unwavering support of the students and families of the University; and

WHEREAS, the growth and renovation of the student facilities on campus has largely been under his guidance, with special attention to the University's first residence hall for students with mobile-related disabilities and the newly renovated Reitz Union;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT PROCLAIMED that the Faculty Senate of the University of Florida, at its regular meeting this 5th day of May 2016, recognizes Vice President of Student Affairs Major General David Kratzer's most commendable service to the University of Florida.

University Budget Update

- Provost Glover gave a presentation on the University Budget. He noted that one of the highest priorities of the President is compensation. Plans are to give raise packages to faculty, staff and graduate assistants effective January 1, 2017. The university is also concerned about the student-faculty ratio.
- Legislature passed a law requiring the university to post textbooks 45 days before the semester.
 - Chair Davenport mentioned that the legislation includes a rule that once a faculty member adopts a required textbook it must be used for three years.

Action Items:

Faculty IT Committee

Jose Trevino, Chair Committee on Committees

- The Committee on Committee asks that the Senate approve the addition of another Senate committee called the Faculty IT Committee.
 - This item was passed.

Joe Glover, Provost

Information Items:

Office of Academic Affairs

Faculty Awards AY 2015-2016

Angel Kwolek-Folland, Associate Professor

Academic and Faculty Affairs

- Angel Kwolek-Folland gave the annual report on awards given by the Office of Academic Affairs.
 - Categories for awards are:
 - Teaching and Scholarship
 - Undergraduate Teaching
 - Advising and Mentoring
 - Research and Professional Development
 - Leadership Programs

Update on Climate Survey

Angel Kwolek-Folland, Associate Professor Academic and Faculty Affairs

- The climate survey was offered between October 27 November 27, 2015. It was designed to help determine how well the university fosters an overall sense of belonging for faculty and staff.
- Overall UF had an excellent response rate.
- Sue Rankin and Rankin and Associates will be on campus to discuss high-level summaries of the findings from a university-wide perspective.
- Faculty and staff open forums will start in June and continue through early October to begin brainstorming action items.

Meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Senators Attending

John Abbitt Sherry Ahrentzen Luis Alvarez-Castro Wayne Archer Ashley Booth Norse Trevor Bopp Jeanine Brady Kristy Breuhl Smith Mary Brownell Clay Calvert James Collins Paul Davenport Tammy Davidson Keith Diem Sylvain Dore Daniel Estrada Ibrahim Farugi **Roger Fillingim** Joshua Freeman Darryl Heard Marc Heft Amanda House Melissa Johnson Edith Kaan

Heather Kent Mei-Fang Lan Alex Lucas John Lilly Christopher Martinez William McGehee Nancy Moores Walter O'Dell Mark Panning David Quillen Sarah Reuss Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Mary Risner Andrew Rosalsky **Richard Rose** Leah Rosenberg Jean-Francois Roulet Melody Royster Susan Schaffer Nipa Shah **Amy Simmone** Meera Sitharam Tina Smith-Bonahue Elisa Sottile

Fred Southwick Ray Thomas Hans van Oostrom Katie Vogel-Anderson Ratree Wayland Ann Wehmeyer Kristin Weitzel Patricia Woods Yafeng Yin

Liaisons Joe Glover Angel Kwolek-Folland Jose Trevino